Tags

First uploaded September 16, 2012

If you know me or have read my blog for a while, you may know that I have a condition.  I see an endocrinologist for my condition, and I take as medication a synthetic copy of a natural human chemical that I do not naturally produce very well.

Without taking injections of insulin, as a type 1 diabetic I would be dead.  Without modern medical science and my artificial enzymes, I would be dead.  Interestingly enough, people do not refer to me as “genetically dead.”  People do not refer to themselves as “genetically alive” in opposition to me or others with a life-threatening condition which requires medicine to treat.

The parallel which seems clear to me is the bizarre phenomenon of people referring to trans* folks as “genetically…” whatever gender they’re not, and referring to cis people as “genetically…” whatever gender they are.  There is no difference to me between this practice and the concept of someone referring to a type 1 diabetic as “genetically dead.”  I’m not fucking dead.  I’m not fucking cis.  Do not use this language.